Topless Tuesday in Mesh

I took the plunge yesterday. I bought the Maitreya “Lara” mesh body. Despite The Girls needing to be smaller even with the body sliders maxed out, several points compelled me. One was seams. I love my Lola’s “Delicq” implants because they make my SL self feel like my RL self but as an attachment they didn’t blend super well, even with advanced lighting, particularly with tank tops or other tops with straps. Several of my stand animations would separate the strap texture on my body from the same texture on the implants.

Which brings me to clothes. Recently I bought a few items that included system-layer options, rigged mesh options, and fitted mesh (AKA fitmesh) options. The fitmesh looked so good (see here) but I had to use my “regular” or small bust shape (see here). And I came up with more excuses there are more reasons. In the end, though, this is what I finished with:

Click to embiggen or see it on Flickr.
Click to embiggen or see it on Flickr.

The skin – The Skinnery “Sasha” (Toffee) – has been my favorite skin for some 18 months now and the maker pushed me into buying the body by making the full-body freckles applier free. Oddly, the skin applier has a slightly different texture so I had to update my SLink hands and feet so I could use a new applier to make everything match. But I didn’t like the low-resolution nipples on the skin. Way too red, too. I tried a nipple texture applier but it still wasn’t quite right. So I bought a pair of fitmesh nipples (try that legally in Real Life) from Soft Voice Creations (demo here). Aside from a far better texture, they are a better 3D representation that what comes with the Maitreya body.

For Photoshoppers, I didn’t use Photoshop. I don’t own it. But I took one pic with Shadows on and one with Shadows off then layered them in Acorn, adjusting each layer’s saturation, brightness, and contrast. The Shadows layer on top was then made partially transparent until I liked the shadows then all factors were tweaked again. BAM … the pic you see above. I’ve been following this procedure lately and it gives great shadow control. Before someone asks: Custom Windlight, Flozz grass, an LDPW bicycle (adjusted animation), Truth “Harley” hair, SLink hands, and shorts from Addams.

Leave a Reply

