A Different Vision

Amplituhedron, LEA25 (SLurl). By Misprint Thursday. Click to embiggen or see it on Flickr.
Amplituhedron, LEA25 (SLurl). By Misprint Thursday.
Click to embiggen or see it on Flickr.

In the last month or so I’ve looked at an awful lot of art in Second life in both the current and archaic senses of the word. One thing I’ve learned through all of this is that I seem to have a different vision of art or what makes something art. Do you find the image above to be lovely? Inspiring? Imagine it with some animation (diamonds dripping from the sky) and color shifting. Any different? I’m totally non-plussed. So much of what I’ve looked at has been muted colors seldom straying far from beige. Most of the the themes have been of darkness and decay. So much has been discordant formlessness.

Inaka 1 by Ziki Questi, in her gallery (SLurl). Click to embiggen or see it on Flickr.
Inaka 1 by Ziki Questi, in her gallery (SLurl).Click to embiggen or see it on Flickr.

Maybe that is why photography is my preferred medium. There is art all around us. Photography can capture a slice. Form, color, time, space, energy, all encapsulated in a snap. But that’s not quite it. I rather fancy sculpture, too, though I’m rubbish at making. If only I could be a polymath like da Vinci or Michelangelo.

Gallery after gallery, I linger in the Renaissance rooms, the Old Masters rooms, the snack bar (cupcakes are art), then whiz through the Modernists and Pop pieces. I don’t get Warhol or Mondrian. Picasso? Scribbles to me. Heresy! I’m sure someone is shouting right now. I have a different vision. We all have a different vision.

Leave a Reply

