Topless Tuesday Pole Dancing

On my 21st birthday I was taken to a strip club in Boston and I was ready with very high-speed film in my camera, ready for low-light and the need for higher shutter speeds. Unfortunately, my camera was kept at the door so I have no pictures full of grainy ambiance. It was with this in mind that I tackled this week’s Topless Tuesday session.

Click to embiggen or see it on Flickr.

Click to embiggen or see it on Flickr.

I’ve been known to dance on a pole or two in Second Life (see here) so when I saw a new strip club being installed in a Role Play region that is being built (I’ll blog about it when it is open) I couldn’t resist trying it out. I wanted to capture the ambiance of the place – a hole-in-the-wall joint with aspirations to be up-scale – so I created the basic shots and headed for Pixelmator.

After tweaking some bad body lines and the levels I decided to AirDrop everything into Google’s Snapseed app (see here; get it here) on my iPad. Such a marvelous tool and it is free!

Click to embiggen or see it on Flickr.

Click to embiggen or see it on Flickr.

Click to embiggen or see it on Flickr.

Click to embiggen or see it on Flickr.

Snapseed is also available for Android devices (see here) and I can highly recommend it. Look at the first picture again then compare it to the original below:

This is the copy I sent to Snapseed, after tweaking in Pixelmator.

This is the copy I sent to Snapseed, after tweaking in Pixelmator.

The adjustments are as follows:
Tune Image – Brightness 18
Tune Image – Ambiance 30
Tune Image – Saturation 15
Tune Image – Shadows -6
Tune Image – Highlights 10
Glamour Glow –  Option 4 Level 30
Grainy Film – Option B04 Level 30
Frames – 17

Adjusting the first image took a few minutes while I compared options though if I had gone in without knowing the look I wanted I could have spent a long time. Adjusting the other two images to match the first was fairly quick because I wrote down the settings I used so it was a matter of tap-tap-tap and done. Being able to save “Stacks” – what the app calls the saved changes to your workflow) would have made the process faster, but maybe not by much.

I wonder if I can talk people into taking me back to the strip club for my 27th birthday.

original_552d34acf8a1ec7eb0000001psst … a bigger, better version of this last pic is on Flickr.

One Comment

Leave a Reply

