A New World

Mid-afternoon local time I picked up my new computer. Three hours later …

My first picture with my new computer. Ultra graphics and all the candy.
My first picture with my new computer. Ultra graphics and all the candy. Click to embiggen or see it on Flickr.

It is an Apple 27″ 5K Retina iMac with 8GB RAM, a 1TB Fusion Drive (128GB Flash on a Hard Disk), a AMD Radeon R9 M295X with 4GB of GDDR5 memory graphics card, and a fire extinguisher. Well, the latter isn’t true, but the machine is hot. Everything is faster and I swear it is 50% lighter in weight than my late 2009 27″ iMac.

My first log in was with an alt so I could tweak settings and move files from the old computer. I wanted my first visit as me to be great. After, I logged in at the laggiest place I knew and was able to turn on High Graphics with Shadows, water reflections, and Ambient Occlusion. I could walk around without lag, type in local chat without lag, and watch others move without lag. It was a joy.

So I went home to take a picture. With Ultra Graphics I had far more lag as I had on the old computer when it was just on High Graphics or a half step below without the eye candy but that wasn’t a problem for the photo. Needless to say, I’m very happy.

Leave a Reply

