Irish Topless Tuesday

Having been born on in Galway, Ireland some 27 years ago I tend to to have a fondness for St. Patrick’s Day. But since my last day in Ireland was also some 27 years ago there is a disconnect and I have to admit I’m more American than I am Irish. Still, it bothers me that most of my current countrymen think the holiday is about kissing and drinking when it started as a religious holiday. Well, we are the people that co-opted Mexico’s (very, very) minor holiday of Cinco de Mayo as an excuse to drink. How much time will pass before the major activity on Christmas is a pub crawl?

*sigh* It was with this in mind that I debated making a Topless Tuesday St. Patrick’s Day photo. I tried several outfits and none quite worked. Then I saw a notice about a nice “Irish Devil” jacket from Rachel Swallows Creations (L$49 for a limited time at SLurl) and thought “If I’m going to Hell for this I might as well have shamrocks made of skulls on my clothes. So I did two photos:

Irish Topless Tuesday March 2015 2

This is the original shot, slightly edited to fix the waistline on the pants but not the brick wall my avatar is leaning against. I was too focused. Click to embiggen or see it on Flickr.

An attempt at creativity, using spot color to bring out the Irish tropes.

An attempt at creativity, using spot color to bring out the Irish tropes. Click to embiggen or see it on Flickr.

So Happy Topless Tuesday and Happy St. Patrick’s Day. No matter how you celebrate, remember that it is a day for fun and responsible revelry (your Lenten obligations are lifted for the day, after all).

Leave a Reply

