Posted in photography, profile, Second Life, textures

A flaw in Second Life Snaps

While taking some snaps I wanted to update my Profile’s First Life picture but I knew from experience that despite the system wanting to save every in-world snap at 512 pixels square or a version of that, the Profile image requirements vary from tab to tab. So an image I might use for the First Life picture would be horribly stretched for use as a Pick pic. Why can’t users save in-word snaps in custom ratios to match in-world applications as detailed in the official system specs shown below? One day I’ll get off my lazy butt and file a suggestion. Until then I’ll dutifully save images to the hard drive and resize them as needed. At least that gives me a format-free original I can use for other purposes if needed.

Aspect ratios of profile, place, etc. pictures — all of these were measured at UI size = 1.000:
▪ Search > All for “Classifieds”, “People”, and “Places” – 4:3 (256×192 pixels)
▪ Search > Places and Classified tabs – ~7:5 (398×282 pixels)
▪ Search > Land tab – ~7:5 (358×252 pixels)
▪ Profile > 2nd Life tab – ~4:3 (178×133 pixels)
▪ Profile > Picks tab – ~16:9 (288×162 pixels)
▪ Profile > 1st Life tab – 1:1 (133×133 pixels)
▪ Profile > Classifieds tab – ~3:2 (206×137 pixels)
▪ About Land > Options tab – ~3:2 (178×117 pixels)
▪ Group Information > General tab’s “Group Insignia” – 1:1 (126×126 pixels)

Author:

Just a girl in virtual places.

2 thoughts on “A flaw in Second Life Snaps

  1. It gets even more complicated since SL does not really like the upload of arbitrarily sized images and tends to snap them into a 512×512 (256, resp 1024) pattern. So best results you get when you work in the desired resolution in a graphics program, then PRIOR to uploading rescale the image yourself to the nearest 256/512/1024 square resolution and THEN upload it to SL.

    Btw – your list is themost complete I have seen so far. Thanks!

  2. Thanks, Peter. I got the list from an SL Wiki somewhere about a year or so ago. It’s been handy.

    When I upload image I make note of the original dimensions in the Description field so I can properly proportion the prim face. But SL needs to let us set these “odd” sizes when we take snaps saved in-world or standardize the aspect ratios of the image holders in the info panes.

Leave a comment